Sophie B. Hawkins Tickets for Sale

Sophie Ballantine Hawkins dons the hat of a singer, songwriter, musician and painter with ease and aplomb. She has given hit songs like 'Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover', 'Right Beside You', and 'As I Lay Me Down'. Hawkins has been influenced by jazz, rock, and African music.
Sorry, no upcoming events found at this time.
Born on November 1, 1967, in Manhattan, New York City, Hawkins was interested in music right from her childhood. After graduating from the Manhattan School of Music, Hawkins started recording demos in a friend's home studio. She was eventually recruited as a percussionist for Bryan Ferry in the early 1980s. After being fired by Ferry, Hawkins penned her hit song 'Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover'.

In 1992 she came out with her maiden album 'Tongues and Tails', which became a big hit. The album got her a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist in 1993. The album spawned the hit single 'Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover' which peaked at to #5 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart in the USA. The follow up album 'Whaler', released a year later too did quite well. It had the hit song 'As I Lay Me Down'. A number of Hawkins's songs like 'Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover', and 'I Need Nothing Else', openly talked about sex. Songs like 'Beautiful Girl', '32 Lines' and 'Your Tongue Like the Sun in My Mouth' dealt clearly with her bisexuality.
A 1998 documentary 'The Cream Will Rise' made by Gigi Gaston followed Hawkins during one of her tours and caught her struggle to handle past trouble with her family, including her mother and brother. The documentary is replete with music and riffs by Hawkins. She came out with her third album 'Timbre', in 1999. Before the release of the album Sophie had an argument with her record company regarding the use of a musical instrument. In 2001, Hawkins re released the album 'Timber' on her own label, Trumpet Swan Productions. In 2004, Hawkins released her maiden self recorded and released album 'Wilderness'.


  • Tongues and Tails (1992)

  • Whaler (1994)

  • Timbre (1999)

  • Timbre (enhanced, on her own label; 2001)

  • The Best of Sophie B. Hawkins (2001)

  • Wilderness (2004)

  • Live! The Bad Kitty Board Mix (2006)

Newsletter Sign-up

Receive our latest exclusive offers and special deals

Our Guarantee