PGA Championship Tickets for Sale

Since 1968 the PGA Tour and PGA America have been independent of one another, with the PGA Tour being an elite organization of tournament professionals and the PGA of America existing mainly as a body for club and teaching professionals. The PGA Championship is still run by the PGA of America, and is the only Major that does not explicitly grant entry to the top 50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings, although it invariably invites all of the top 100 who are not already qualified.

The list of PGA Championship player qualifications is vast and includes all former PGA Champions, winners of the last five U.S. Opens, winners of the last five Masters, winners of the last five Open Championships, the last Senior PGA Champion, the low fifteen scorers (including ties) in the previous PGA Championship, the twenty low scorers in the last PGA Professional National Championship, the 70 leaders in official money standings on the PGA Tour, members of the most recent U.S. Ryder Cup Team, and winners of tournaments co-sponsored or approved by the PGA Tour since the previous PGA Championship. The PGA of America reserves the right to invite additional players not falling into any of the above categories. The field of 156 players is rounded out using a list of alternates comprised of those below 70th place in official money standings.

Make sure to be there for the historical 92nd playing of this great event by ordering your PGA Championship tickets right away. Scheduled to take place August 12-15, 2010 on the shores of Lake Michigan, Whistling Straits in Kohler, Wisconsin, is an ideal spot to enjoy some great golf this summer.

The 92nd playing of the PGA Championship is scheduled for August 12-15, 2010 on the Straits Course at the Whistling Straits complex in Kohler, Wisconsin for the second time in its history. The first time Whistling Straits hosted a Major was the 86th PGA Championship in 2004. The tournament was also held on the Straits Course and won by Vijay Singh. The PGA Championship is the fourth and final Major Championship of the season, and due to that distinction as the final Major of the season, the PGA Championship is also nicknamed "Glory's last shot".

In 2009 Yang Yong-eun – more commonly referred to as Y.E. Yang in the United States – won his first Major by three strokes over four-time tournament champion Tiger Woods (1999,2000, 2006-07), marking the first time that Woods had failed to win a Major he had led after 54 holes. Yang also became the first Asian-born player to win a men's Major Championship (although the third of Asian descent, after Woods and Indian-Fijian Vijay Singh).

Just as with the other Majors, the PGA Championship gives the winner several privileges that, if he is not already one of golf's elite, make his career much more secure. PGA champions are automatically invited to play in the other three Majors – the Masters, the U.S. Open, and the British Open – for the next five years, and exempt from qualifying for the PGA Championship for life. The winners also receive membership on the PGA Tour and invitations to The PLAYERS Championship each for the next five seasons.

The first PGA Championship was held in 1916 at Siwanoy Country Club in Eastchester, New York. The winner was Jim Barnes, who received $500 and a diamond-studded gold medal donated by one of the event's founders, Rodman Wanamaker. In comparison, the 2009 winner, Y.E. Yang, earned $1.35 million in addition to being awarded the Wanamaker Trophy.

The main objective of creating the PGA Championship was to provide a high-profile tournament, specifically for professional golfers, who were generally not held in high regard in a sport largely run by wealthy amateurs at the time. This objective remains evident in the entry system for the PGA Championship, as it is the only Major which does not explicitly invite leading amateurs to compete and the only one which reserves a large number of slots, 20 of 156, for club professionals. These slots are determined by the top finishers in the club pro championship, which is held in June. As a side note, it is possible for amateurs to get into the field, although the only possible way is by winning one of the other three Major Championships.