BMW Championship Tickets for Sale

In 2009, Tiger Woods charged to a huge lead with a third-round 62, which resulted in a dominant eight-stroke victory. This was Tiger's fifth BMW Championship/Western Open win (1997, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009), tying him with Walter Hagen (1916, 1921, 1926-27, 1932) for most wins here. Meanwhile, his 62 also set a tournament scoring record for 18 holes.

After Hagen's and Woods' five wins each, Willie Anderson (1902, 1904, 1908-09) and Billy Casper (1965-66, 1969, 1973) have each won the event four times, followed by four golfers having won three times each – Macdonald Smith (1912, 1925, 1933), Jim Barnes (1914, 1917, 1919), Ralph Guldahl (1936-38) and Tom Watson (1974, 1977, 1984).

Other notable BMW Championship accomplishments include Tiger Woods holding the overall Championship record with a tournament total of 262, as well his aforementioned single-round record of 62. Additionally, two amateurs have won this tournament, Chick Evans (1910) and Scott Verplank (1985).

Given the fact that this is now the third round of the FedExCup playoffs, it only enhances the storied history of this traditional PGA Tour event. Order your BMW Championship tickets now and plan to enjoy the Chicago area, September 9-12, 2010, when the pros come to Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont, Illinois.

Up until three years ago, the BMW Championship was traditionally known as the Western Open on the PGA Tour. In 2007 the tournament adopted the title of BMW Championship, and also became the third of four FedExCup "playoff" tournaments. This tournament is also the oldest regular PGA Tour event, dating back to 1899. Only the U.S. Open and British Open are older.

The BMW Championship replaces the Western Open, a PGA Tour event which was played from 1899 to 2006. For many years, the Western was played in and out of the state of Illinois before eventually settling down in the greater Chicago area itself. From 1991 to its final year, the event was played on the Dubsdread course at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club, in the Chicago suburb of Lemont, Illinois. Having been played at numerous other courses during its long history, the current intent of the PGA Tour is for the BMW Championship to enter into a three-course rotation of Upper Midwest venues, including Cog Hill in Lemont, Crooked Stick Golf Club in Carmel, Indiana, and Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, Missouri.

The Western Golf Association ran the Western Open throughout its entire 107-year history and will have a hand in the running of the BMW Championship. This link, however, is probably the only true similarity between the Western Open and BMW Championship, other than location. The two have entirely different formats in terms of play and invitational criteria. The Western Open was like any other regular PGA Tour stop – although it was once considered to be one of golf's Majors – in that its invitational criteria mirrored the PGA Tour Exemption Categories with one exception, which is that the winner of the Western Amateur was invited to play. The BMW Championship will be part of the FedExCup Playoffs, and only the top seventy FedExCup points leaders at the start of the BMW event will be eligible to play.

In the first two years it was played, the tournament was only a two-round event. After not being played in 1900, it expanded to four rounds in 1902. Willie Smith was the first two-round winner in 1899, and Willie Anderson won the first 72-hole event in 1902, with a score of 299, making him the first golfer ever to shoot below 300 in a 72-hole U.S. tournament.

Newsletter Sign-up

Receive our latest exclusive offers and special deals

Our Guarantee