Call Us:  1-800-318-2220
Home > Alamo Bowl Tickets
Get Event & Team Schedules
Join our Mailing List
* Name
* Email
* = Required Field
“I wanted to thank you so much for helping me with the James Taylor tickets, you were a tremendous help!”
Adam – Tampa, Florida

“Very many thanks for your lovely response. All the very best.”
JoAnne – Essex, United Kingdom

“You folks are being quite helpful and it is appreciated. Thank you!”
Anthony- Englewood, NJ

“Always great customer service and great prices”
Chris - Denver, CO

“Cheapest prices I could find and great experience. Will buy from again”
Sara - San Deigo, CA

American Express Fraud Protection Guarantee Fedex

The images appearing herein are for informational purposes only. OnlineSeats is not affiliated with Ticketmaster or any other ticketing company, any box office, venue, performing artist or sporting organization such as: NBA, NFL ,NHL, MLB, NCAA, NASCAR, USTA, PGA, LPGA, USGA, WNBA or any other sporting organizations. All logos and names of any of the aforementioned are used for purposes of factual description only. OnlineSeats is a nationwide events ticket-shopping directory and was purchased by Alliance Tickets in August of 2012. OnlineSeats is managed by Alliance Tickets and is an Alliance Tickets website.

Alamo Bowl

Alamo Bowl

Background - Alamo Bowl

The Alamo Bowl is a major post-season United States college football bowl game played annually since 1993 in the 65,000-seat Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. It usually matches the fourth-choice (not necessarily fourth-place) teams from the Big Ten Conference and the Big Twelve Conference.

The Alamodome, which opened its doors on May 15, 1993, is unique because of its design and versatility. The facility has a cable-suspended roof, a retractable seating system, a flexible floor grid stadium, formal entries and large food court areas.

The Alamodome's versatility as a multi-purpose facility has been proven with the hundreds of events it hosts each year. The building has several configurations, ranging from 5,000 seats for small conventions to 72,000 for an event in the round.

In particular, the Alamodome has hosted an impressive variety of sporting events. For football, the Alamodome seats 65,000 and features 38 executive suites.

The MasterCard Alamo Bowl has called the Alamodome home since its first game on December 31, 1993. Over the last six years, the Alamo Bowl has averaged crowds of 61,035, an average that is over 94 percent of the Alamodome's capacity. The 1999 SYLVANIA Alamo Bowl featuring #13 Penn State and #18 Texas A&M drew a standing room only crowd of 65,380, the largest sports crowd in Alamodome history.

Corporate title sponsors: Builders Square (1993-1998), Sylvania (1990-2001), and MasterCard (2002-present).

All Events by Date

Set Location
Event Date/Time Venue/City  
Alamo Bowl Dec 30, 2014
San Antonio, TX
View Tickets
< Prev 1 Next >
Alamo Bowl

Alamo Bowl

Official names: Builders Square Alamo Bowl (1993-1998), Sylvania Alamo Bowl (1999-2001), MasterCard Alamo Bowl (2002-present).

There was an bowl game called Alamo Bowl played in January 1947 as well
The Alamodome was the home of the NBA's San Antonio Spurs from 1993 until 2002. While the building was typically configured for 21,372 seats for basketball, the seating was expanded to an Alamodome record 39,554 for Game Two of the 1999 NBA Finals between the Spurs and the New York Knicks on June 18, 1999. The Spurs clinched the series in Game Six in New York and gave San Antonio its first NBA Championship.

However, the Alamodome record for largest basketball crowd goes to the 1998 NCAA Final Four. Both the semifinal and the men's final drew crowds of 40,509 as the Kentucky Wildcats emerged as the national champions with a 78-69 win against Utah for the title.

The Alamodome successfully hosted the 1996 NBA All-Star Weekend, 1997 NCAA Midwest Regional and 2001 NCAA Midwest Regional, the 2002 Women's NCAA Final Four, the 2003 NCAA South Regional and the 2004 Men's NCAA Final Four. The Alamodome will also play host to the 2006 Women's NCAA Midwest Regional and the 2008 Men's NCAA Final Four.

Results by year
12/31/1993 California Golden Bears 37 Iowa Hawkeyes 3
12/31/1994 Washington State Cougars 10 Baylor Bears 3
12/28/1995 Texas A&M Aggies 22 Michigan Wolverines 20
12/29/1996 Iowa Hawkeyes 27 Texas Tech Red Raiders 0
12/30/1997 Purdue Boilermakers 33 Oklahoma State Cowboys 20
12/29/1998 Purdue Boilermakers 37 Kansas State Wildcats 34
12/28/1999 Penn State Nittany Lions 24 Texas A&M Aggies 0
12/30/2000 Nebraska Cornhuskers 66 Northwestern Wildcats 17
12/29/2001 Iowa Hawkeyes 19 Texas Tech Red Raiders 16
12/28/2002 Wisconsin Badgers 31 Colorado Buffaloes 28
12/29/2003 Nebraska Cornhuskers 17 Michigan State Spartans 3